1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Yr7 - 4 pieces of work!

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by angiebabe, Jan 29, 2011.

1. angiebabe

angiebabe New commenter

I don't want my Secondary colleagues to think I am encroaching on their territory but a parent has asked me to find out the answer this this question.
    As a primary teacher I am tutoring a Y6 and Yr3 pupil from the same family. Last year I tutored their sister who is now in Yr7. I am obviously still interested in her progress and was chatting to her last week. She told me she has only had 4 pieces of English work to complete since September. Now I know this could be a bit of an exaggeration but her mum is a bit concerned, as I am because it is by far her weakest subject.
    Your thoughts - is this usual?

2. angiebabe

angiebabe New commenter

I don't want my Secondary colleagues to think I am encroaching on their territory but a parent has asked me to find out the answer this this question.
    As a primary teacher I am tutoring a Y6 and Yr3 pupil from the same family. Last year I tutored their sister who is now in Yr7. I am obviously still interested in her progress and was chatting to her last week. She told me she has only had 4 pieces of English work to complete since September. Now I know this could be a bit of an exaggeration but her mum is a bit concerned, as I am because it is by far her weakest subject.
    Your thoughts - is this usual?

3. tafkam

tafkam Occasional commenter

Did you not ask further questions?
    My thoughts are as follows, and this is based on my experience in a middle school where most of the teachers are primary-trained.