1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Yr6 - Yr7 Transition

Discussion in 'Primary' started by gisseygirl, May 28, 2013.

1. I am a Lead Intervention Teacher for in a secondary school. This year I would like to improve the level of information that we receive about the students who may need additional/ differentiated support on entry in Yr7 and the types of support and intervention that have already taken place, its successes and length of time etc.. From Sept I will be leading a transition group of Level 3 and below students who will follow a differentiated timetable that will focus on literacy and numeracy. We currently look at data, including sats, cats and NFER reading (multiple choice) but students still seem to slip through the net. Can anyone share with me the types of activities and processes that Primary school teachers and sencos experience for exchange of information in your primaries? How does your local feeder secondary collect information and aid transition for your yr6 students?

2. nomad

nomad Star commenter

Data is not everything.

Do you visit your local feeder primaries and meet with the member of staff responsible for SEN, LAC, etc., and the member of staff responsible for Year 6?

3. magazine

magazine New commenter