1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Yr11 way off target grades - HELP!

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by nugget, Oct 1, 2011.

1. nugget

nugget New commenter

I'm in my second year of teaching and I've just inherited a year 11 German group from someone who left. Most of them are predicted Cs with a few expected to get Bs and a couple Ds. However, at the moment they are nowhere close. Their controlled assessment and past paper marks are Es, Fs, Gs with only a couple getting their predicted Cs.
    I'm currently teaching them a topic which we will do another assessment on and hopefully there will be time for a second one after that. I'm conscious that time is running out though and im under pressure from above to turn this situation around. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas of intervention/teaching strategies that I could try?