1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Your child in your school

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by ChangingHair, Mar 22, 2012.

1. I am a new head in a small school. My daughter isn't overly happy at her school but more importantly I have to rely on friends for before school care as there isn't any nor a child minder who drops off there. At my new school there is a good childminder and so am seriously considering it. Will also give us an extra hour together in the car and enable me to be at work earlier! Anyone any actual experience of having their child in their school as a head?

2. Half an hour drive each way!

3. I am a Head Teacher of a small school too. All of my sons attend/attended the school. As a teaching head I have had at least one of them in my class over the last 5 years.
    It has been a real privilege to have been able to be such a huge part in their education - more than most dads would get the chance.
    They maintain that they like having me as their HT, and because I have a good relationship with the other pupils they don't get a hard time in the playground.
    It can sometimes be tough to make sure that they are being seen to be treated the same as the other pupils, and regardless of the extent we go to do this, e.g. ensuring I don't judge any competitions they are involved in, a few of the other pupils do give them a hard time if they win (even if it's a race!)