1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Your advice would be greatly appreciated

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by misstalented, Feb 27, 2013.

1. Hello everyone,
    This is my first time posting, though I have been a member for some time an contributed resources, so please bear with me if the format is not perfect! I am looking for advice for a colleague. The situation is a little complex, but here goes...
    My friend works at an independent school currently inspected via Ofsted, but according to the Headteacher, shortly transferring to the ISC. The Headteacher is apparently retiring shortly, meaning applications are open for the Headship and the successful candidate will take up the position in September. The current Head is to become a governor, as apparently this is a requirement from Oftsed. Is he correct or merely trying yet again to abuse his power? I have trawled Ofsted and found no evidence that this is true.
    My colleague does not have a PGCE but the Head has also informed him that the ISC have stated he must have one and a full degree (not the HND he has) to be able to apply for the job as Headteacher. Is this correct? Again I have trawled the ISC website and found no evidence that this is true.
    Additionally the Head is a manipulative person, who surrounds himself with women through whom he can still be in power. Undoubtedly this is his aim here. He is currently putting as many roadblocks as possible in front of my friend even applying for the position and weighting the process in favour of his considerably less able female co-workers. Provided documentary evidence can be compiled, does this qualify as discrimination? Can it be challenged?