1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Young female Teachers- and teenage boys

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by justme29, Mar 8, 2008.

1. I'm a young female Teacher currently doing a PGCE. The problem I have is with comments being made.

I have heard a variety of things being said i.e. 'Miss is quite muscular', 'lets check out Miss' bum', and once a boy put his hand up in class and said 'Miss, what year were you born in, I heard it was 69'.

What would you do to allieviate this situation?

Comments and tips welcome and sorely needed.

2. biolgirl

biolgirl New commenter

This same kind of thing happened to my friend when we did our PGCE together. She was extremely upset by it. On advice from the school the next time it happened my friend asked to normal teacher to continue with the class, whilst she marched the boy out to the telephone. She then called the boys mum and made him tell his mum why he was taken out of class and what he had said. Mother was suitably appalled and boy was white with shock at having to do this. She never had any trouble with the boys in that class after that.

3. teachur

teachur New commenter

Exactly the kind of thing i would reccomend. But before trying it, make sure you know the pupils and the parents, it could backfire quite badly.

You could also try the shock tactic of getting the school to deal with it as a very serious sexual harrassment case! If a colleague did it repeatedly they would be in trouble.

Teachers take too much sh*t "on the chin". Why should we?

4. Thanks for the comments.

I am not upset, just a bit shocked that kids feel brave enough to behave this way!