1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Yet another kindle thread

Discussion in 'Book club' started by anon3372, May 1, 2011.

1. Ok, so having been opposed to it for like, forever, I noticed my sister had one and tried it and am enthused.
    The other threads go right over my head so could somebody tell me:
    What a kindle costs (I need to compare the German price)?
    How much I can download for free? (100 books or summat?)
    What it costs to download stuff you pay for?
    How many books can you archive on amazon?
    Can you download from elsewhere?
    I realise these are stupid questions for those of you who are kindle freaks, but I am a real beginner and still need a bit of convincing.

2. HI CQ,

I have a 3G one. I was really sceptical at first, but tried my Mum's and now |I love it. She took her's to Egypt with her and downloaded books for free out there - no internet charges or anything.
    You download most books from Amazon. As you are in Germany just use the amazon.co.uk site, and you will be able to download English books. There are lots of free books and even more to buy which start about 69p! There is a free program called Calibre you can download, and this will convert PDF files to kindle (mobi) format to use on your kindle. I had the twilight saga in pdf, and it converted the whole lot in minutes! if you look on the web you can find lots of pdf books out there.
    Hope that helps a bit!

3. PS, I've downloaded about 200 books andstill have 2900MB free!

4. marshypops

marshypops New commenter

£111 or £150+
    As much as you like, just find the "free" books, by typing "-domain" in the search thingy on amazon or by looking at the free websites provided by theo.