1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year one teacher refusing to tie shoelaces?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by pinkflipflop, Mar 19, 2011.

1. You don't have TAs nick.....you are a student.

2. breadmaker

breadmaker New commenter

Come on people! Have a heart!! I am a y1 teacher of many years experience and always tie shoe laces in a double knot when first asked and that tends to do the trick. Obviously, it's not in our job description to do shoe laces and other tasks related to being with young children all day, but, maybe I'm soft hearted, I have known many children who get very anxious about this kind of thing and then they can't take in/participate ion the learning anyway as their mind is on their immediate needs- Maslow's hierarchy didn't mention shoelaces, but if your are 5 or 6, these are probably at the bottom of your pyramid as they are very important to you!!

3. As many have said. A parent shouldn't be sending in their child with shoelaces if they can't tie them up themselves. One of the other teachers in our yeargroup at school sends them to get their plimsoles on instead.

4. Leapyearbaby64

Leapyearbaby64 New commenter

I had a Y3 boy in my first ever class who could not tie up his shoelaces. He tripped over them one playtime and broke his collar bone. I think his Mum got him velcro shoes after that. I wonder if he has learned to do them yet ...

5. I have a son in year 3 and I also teach year 3. My son try as we might with his trainers at home cannot get his head around how to tie his shoelaces. My partner and I have spent hours and I mean hours with him, lots of practicing and lots of tears but he just can't get it.