1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

year 9 don't know what 'qu'est-ce que c'est' means?

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by Herringthecat, Jan 30, 2012.

1. Herringthecat

Herringthecat New commenter

Hello,

I am a wannabe MFL teacher and spent the day today in a school watching some lessons.

I was really surprised to notice when I was helping out with year 9, how little French they could cope with - after nearly two and a half years of the subject.

There is so much expertise and experience on this forum, I would be really interested to hear what you think might be going on when these kids struggle to translate simple (to my mind) phrases such as 'je voudrais', 'qu'est-ce que c'est' - one girl that I helped also didn't know what 'avec' meant.

I was reading a thread lower down which suggested that 'subject knowledge' meant understanding how kids learned foreign language, rather than a teacher's understanding and knowledge of the language - so I'm wondering whether my expectations are way out, or there's other stuff going on. It's a mixed ability set in a good comprehensive.

Your insights would be much valued.

HTC

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Well, some may be to do with the time allocation.