1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 8 girl / Lack of respect.

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by tobyr2385, Jul 9, 2014.

1. I've got a Year 8 top set class of 27 pupils, 17 of which are labelled as G&T. They are a nice class, and I do enjoy teaching them. I didn't teach them in Year 7, when potential behaviour problems were growing.

I am also relatively new to the teaching profession, with nearly a year under my belt, so I am trying and seeing what happens, and then learning from it.

My issue(s) are that I have a 13 year old girl who is very vocal in many aspects, and is in danger of ruining this class for the next year, as I will be timetabled for them next year - We are a small department of 3.

For the sake of this post, we'll call her Ava.

MFL in my school is not compulsory at KS4, however this class will be subtly targeted to take it and it is my hope that a lot of them do take GCSE level languages - many of their end of KS3 targets are in Level 6 or indeed 7 for some of them, ideal for GCSE, if/when they choose to take it.

After setting her a detention back in September/October time, Ava seems to have developed a massive grudge towards me and/or my subject, as it is difficult to differentiate between the two. I'm going to assume it's my subject as opposed to me - for the moment.

She's complained about my lessons being boring - out loud. She's demanded to be moved to the bottom set, meaning moving out of my class - out loud. Unbeknown to her that children in my bottom set struggle with literacy generally in English, let alone in an MFL.