1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 7 Media SOW

Discussion in 'English' started by LindseyP, May 11, 2007.

1. Hello!
    I am a student teacher and I have been asked to do a 'media' project with year 7 after term. The class teacher said she is happy to let me do whatever I want with the class, as long as it involves some collaberative work and is linked with media.
    Any SOW, ideas, resources etc would be so greatly appreciated!

Thankyou!!

Lindsey (One very tired trainee teacher!) xx

2. Hello!
    I am a student teacher and I have been asked to do a 'media' project with year 7 after term. The class teacher said she is happy to let me do whatever I want with the class, as long as it involves some collaberative work and is linked with media.
    Any SOW, ideas, resources etc would be so greatly appreciated!

Thankyou!!

Lindsey (One very tired trainee teacher!) xx

3. I have a sow on Narnia if that's any help.

Lou

4. Get a copy of the English and Media centre 'Media' book - it has schemes for Y7 8 and 9 - focusing on Teletubbies to Big Brother. Saves reinventing the wheel.

5. Teachit used to have a 'Froops' campaign for fruit flavoured crisps - not sure if it's still on site. Basically groups have to produce ad campaign for the product - they'll need input and examples of branding, slogan, target audiences. Would be good idea to have selection of crisp packets and examples of branding. Extensions can be to write radio scripts and storyboard a tv ad - I've taught it a few times and it always goes down well. At the end of the unit, groups have to present their campaign and sell it to the class which is a sp&lis opp. I usually tag a written 'report' on the end too for assessment.