1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide in the welcome lounge and help forum.

Year 7 Assembly

Discussion in 'PSHE' started by mimibeatle, Jan 29, 2008.

1. I've been roped in to do the year 7 assembly this week (I'm a form tutor and English teacher). Bit pushed for time - any ideas? Was going to do something on storytelling/reading/literacy but open to suggestions!
  2. I've been roped in to do the year 7 assembly this week (I'm a form tutor and English teacher). Bit pushed for time - any ideas? Was going to do something on storytelling/reading/literacy but open to suggestions!
  3. I've been a head of years 7, 9, 10, and 11 at various points so if you send me your e-mail address I'll have a go at mailing you the transcripts of some assemblies I've done.

The best assembly I've ever done came from a book. It involves conning the kids into thinking you're eating cat-food to show them that appearances can be deceptive - link to dodgy e-mails, strangers, etc.

It takes a bit of prep, but it's worth it. You need an empty tin - like a baked bean tin, a cat-food tin, several Snickers bars and some orange jelly cubes.

First you empty the beans out oif the BOTTOM of the can.

Then, you steam the label off both tins, and put the cat-food label on the empty beans tin.

Next chop up the Snickers bars and put them in your beans tin with a cat label on. Then mix up the orange jelly and pour it over the chopped up Snickers. Leave your tin in the fridge over-night to set.