1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 7/8 food tech observation lesson

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by helenkeeling, Jan 14, 2017.

1. helenkeeling

helenkeeling New commenter

Hi,

I need some help with a food tech observation for year 7 or 8s. I'm actually an Art teacher and have never taught food technology at a secondary level so I'm struggling for ideas. Another problem is the school is brand new and doesn't have a kitchen yet so we can't actually do any cooking! No joke! I've planned a non-cooking healthy lunches project thinking they could make sandwiches, salads, non-cook desserts etc. Any ideas would be much appreciated!

2. MissSidney

MissSidney New commenter

I would suggest that a lesson focused on health and nutrition might be a really good way to go! Dependant on the maturity of the group, you could include articles / current news about the state of health of young adults. Something like that which is 'real' information, because it's so current and ongoing, might make an interesting prompt for them to think about the importance of healthy eating and what role they have to play in that.

Good luck with the lesson obs

3. helenkeeling

helenkeeling New commenter

Thanks for the feedback and the good wishes. I've actually just covered health and nutrients. If I'd know about the observation I would have held on!