1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 teachers: What would you & your children make of this? (Maths)

Discussion in 'Primary' started by mature_maths_trainee, Mar 22, 2012.

1. mature_maths_trainee

mature_maths_trainee New commenter

I'm a secondary Maths teacher, and want to work with my local Primary feeder schools to set a clearer standard of expectation in Maths. I know students inevitably have different abilities, but I've tried to identify a *core* numeracy skills for 'all' (end of Year 6) students to posses in order to properly, fully, engage with most Secondary school's KS3 Schemes of Work. It doesn't relate to students being at 'level 4', or 'level 5'. There can be a great deal of vagueness in how students are actually assessed to be at those levels.
    So I've listed, what I regard as, the 'core numeracy skills' (neccessary in order to properly access most school's KS3 SoWs) in a document at:
    http://www.tes.co.uk/teaching-resource/A-definition-of-Core-Numeracy-Skills-for-KS3-6195407/

Do you think this list of skills is too tough for 'most Yr 6 students' to achieve? Which skills (of those I've listed) do you think are generally 'unattainable' for most Year 6 students? Does anything on the list especially surprise you?
    Or is it all pretty much as you would anticipate?
    I guess what I'm doing is testing your reaction to this document before I share it with my local Primary colleagues. I want something that's of a high standard, but that's also realistically achievable, and that my Primary colleagues have belief in.
    All feedback/comments/criticisms are very welcome. :)
    MMT

2. mature_maths_trainee