1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 SATs pressure

Discussion in 'Primary' started by woody_1, Jan 9, 2011.

1. Hello,
    This is my first year teaching year 6 (I spend my first year teaching in year 5) and I am feeling way out of my depth. My head wants me to start preparing them for SATs this half term and I have no idea really how to approach it all. Does anyone have any ideas of how to approach teaching revision lessons apart from just going through papers? I'm also struggling to think of ideas for revision displays apart from laminating past numeracy SATs questions for them to try when they have a spare few minutes.
    I really would appreciate any advice or help!

2. slippeddisc

slippeddisc New commenter

If your head wants you to do this I would ask him/her what you should be doing.

I have not taught year 6 but this is what I would do. For displays I would do the features of the different writing genres and checklists for how to answer a maths word problem. Also anything they are struggling with.
    You probably need to do a revision timetable so you know you are covering everything that needs covering.
    There is no point doing tons of sats unless they have a purpose e.g. will you analyse them to see where the children are weak? Will you teach them exam technique before each time you take a sat paper so they can get used to what they need to do?

3. Milgod

Milgod Established commenter