1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 - Ratio and Proportion

Discussion in 'Primary' started by TheOracleAtDelphi, Jul 17, 2015.

1. TheOracleAtDelphi

TheOracleAtDelphi Established commenter

Hello,

I'm new to year 6 (so apologies in advance if I start posting a lot of questions over the next year - I've got one already lined up about how on earth I'm supposed to know whether the pupils are where they are supposed to be in terms of standardised scores if they're not going to tell us how to convert raw scores to standardised scores :) ) and am currently going through the new national curriculum PoS for year 6 for maths.

The area I am really struggling with is the section on ratio and proportion. The two statements about percentages (although I'm not overly fond of the link with pie charts) and similar shapes are fine but I am really struggling with the other two and the notes and guidance section aren't really elucidating things for me in this case. I'm possibly overthinking it but I was just wondering whether anybody could explain what they mean please?

• "solve problems involving the relative sizes of two quantities where missing values can be found by using integer multiplication and division facts"
    The notes and guidance states "Pupils recognise proportionality in contexts when the relations between quantities are in the same ratio (for example, similar shapes and recipes)" so do they just mean use the principles of proportion to solve problems in context e.g. recipe adjustment or do they mean in some kind of abstract context and if so, could anybody suggest the kind of question they might ask?