1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 maths planning

Discussion in 'Primary' started by rach1968, Aug 22, 2010.

1. rach1968

rach1968 New commenter

Hi
    I'm new to Year 6 this year and am finding it quite difficult to know where to start my maths planning from. We won't be having a normal beginning to the school year as our TAs are being utilised elsewhere the first week. This means normal groupings etc will have to wait until the second week. I'm thinking of doing some sort of 'finding' out lessons for the first 4 days we are teaching. Does anyone else do this, or something similar? Would anyone be kind enough - if they do - to let me have a look at their planning as I've no idea where to begin(I think I've got some sort of brain freeze). I would be eternally grateful and would swap some of my planning in return - been in Year 3,4,5 previously.

2. zugthebug

zugthebug New commenter

do you use the framework site. Not a popular choice with everyone but it gives a starting point. Finding out is a good idea. My school has very detailed assessment system so I know where each child left off in July. Taking the summer holiday slide into account, I usually spend the first week going over the basics with a bit of problem solving thrown in.
    Also ask the children, they will know where their strengths and weaknesses are (some exaggerate but you will find them out very quickly)

3. poet

poet New commenter

have you thought about doing some investagation work? This link (I hope) is the link which takes you to the puzzles and problems bit from the strategies. http://nationalstrategies.standards.dcsf.gov.uk/node/85260