1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 Level 6 Paper and preparation - Guidance please

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by adamcreen, Jun 26, 2012.

1. adamcreen

adamcreen Occasional commenter

I am a secondary teacher who did work with Year 6 (and 5 and 4 and 3!) children at a local primary, leading to a few sessions of Level 6 coverage in the 2nd half of the spring term. I also marked them for the STA this year.

Firstly, most importantly, do not say anything to the students about it until well after Christmas. It is NOT important and they do not need to be stressed about it. When you do, explain that it is not part of the SATS, it is an extra test just to see what they can do - it is not pass or fail and it will not affect their future.

You should not try to cover everything at Level 6 - your focus should be to get them as confident on Level 5 work as you can. Level 6 is a bonus, and you should pick a few key topics to cover, e.g. trial and improvement, ratio, probability.

I could go on but will stop there for now.

2. is it usual in your school to do the level 6 paper?
    adam - from your current standpoint, do you see advantages to kids arriving having worked towards a level 6 paper?

3. adamcreen

Vicky - I can send you the Assessment Guidelines that I used to when planning my sessions - it's an old strategy document with Level 5 and Level 6 on one page so you can see progression. DM your email address.