1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 Leavers Assembly

Discussion in 'Primary' started by ceriburd, Apr 3, 2008.

1. I'm no expert as i was an NQT last year..... But i let them write their own, little sketches of their favourite memories of school life. It actually went really well, they love taking off teachers etc. Looking back it was really sweet, they decided to give a flower to every adult in the school and this was a year group no one would miss!

2. A century or so ago I "invited" Margaret Thatcher to our leavers' service so that she could hear what everyone had done during their time at school. She didn't come in person but the girl who played her did a brilliant impersonation - she's become a professional actor. It just provided a framework for the sketches, reminiscences, favourite moments, embarrassing moments, sporting achievements, best models, best trips, best friends and all the other bits that can be used. Plus the looking forward aspect as well.
    I think I once had an elderly couple looking back and reminiscing about their primary school days with everyone else appearing with their sketces and memories.
    Some kind of framework adds a bit of interest - for the staff as much as anyone else!
    If you want a serious poem about what lies ahead and choices which have to be made there is Robert Frost's The Road Not Taken - I took the road less travelled by etc. One of the best poem's about how childhood is precious is Gareth Owen's Time Child. They're both in my anthology of poems for Year 6. If you'd like a free copy contact me on:
    alankerr@quercuspublications.co.uk
    Good luck. Don't have any sleepless nights over it.
    Alan K