1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 help please

Discussion in 'Primary' started by tick/star/smileyface, Aug 15, 2011.

1. tick/star/smileyface

tick/star/smileyface New commenter

YAY FINALLY IT WORKED! I really hope there are some friendly fellows out there that wouldn't mind giving me a point in the right direction. Also, after 5 years of key stage 1, I was wondering if anyone else out there has made this kind of move and how you refreshed yourself with (particularly) the Numeracy knowledge and the teaching approach to older children?

THANK YOU!

2. angel-74

angel-74 New commenter

Hi following this post with interest - I hope Year 6 teachers can help. I am new to year 6 in Sep and would be interested to hear what do you feel are the most important things to do in the first couple of weeks e.g would you assess the children as soon as possible? What are your top ten tips for a new teacher to Year 6? Please help - thanks x

3. Hey! Following this post with interest too! The top ten tips sound like a great idea and would be very useful!

4. 1. Be firm
    2. Start with assessment activities do a piece of writing, assess maths key things like number facts, place value and written/mental calculation methods.
    3. Get the children onto a 'progress is important' mind set and use this all the time
    4. Analyse the data yourself and work out realistically how far you can move your children and depending on the HT tell them.
    5. Remember they're still primary children and love all aspects e'g reading corners
    6. Be prepared for all those little 'jobs' that year 6 just have to do during the year e.g sports events