1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 help/ guidance/ plans/ alcohol!! Any help appreciated

Discussion in 'Primary' started by newe700, Jan 2, 2011.

1. Hello everyone, thanks for taking some time to read my post.
    I'm in my 2nd year of teaching (NQT last year) and now I'm in a new school, year 6 one form entry.....so I'm in <u>year 6 ON MY OWN!!!!</u> :) So I need some guidance on SATs prep.
    So far it's been ok, but different issues have arisen around planning and I've put a lot (hours and hours) of work into planning and still had issues around 'year 6 coverage' etc.
    I have always planned from the Framework, and can do that easily, and my new school has Abacus Evolve for maths, but I have been questioned for using this at times!! But I realise that year 6, and the SATs require you to prepare for all the genres that will probably be covered etc.
    Is there anyone that can help me with plans, year 6 coverage in Maths and Literacy?
    <u>Any advice, links,planning, old or new</u>.
    Or just advise me to get some nice cold beers, and plan on a post it note!!!
    If you would rather email me, please send to:
    mrharrislondon@gmail.com
    Thank you everyone

Mr.H

2. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

For maths, just think what your class appear to need. You should by now have worked out strengths and weaknesses so cover those. Abacus evolve is rubbish in my opinion (though others swear by it) so use any websites you know of to get some better ideas.