1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 Guided Reading

Discussion in 'Primary' started by suzanne.bentley21, Oct 18, 2015.

1. suzanne.bentley21

suzanne.bentley21 New commenter

I'm new to Year 6 this year and was wondering if anyone had any pearls of wisdom for the best way to teach reading. I have been doing daily guided reading so far (30 min sessions with books from a reading scheme), but after speaking to other experienced Y6 teachers, I am considering that this may not be the best way to go. It seems like others are having longer bi-weekly sessions and spending lots of time going through reading papers.
    Given the raised expectations this year, I was wondering if anybody has a tried and tested method that:
    keeps the children interested/ motivated
    helps to improve the children's reading skills,
    shows clear progress each lesson
    "trains" the children to cope with SATs papers.

It might be a tall order but am just interested to see how others do it. I've been looking a little at the idea of class reading sessions which would spend longer teaching and embedding those higher order reading skills. It sounds great in theory but not sure which way to go!

Thanks

2. nick909

nick909 Star commenter