1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 6 English Planning

Discussion in 'Primary' started by demure, Jan 1, 2019.

1. demure

demure New commenter

Hello,

I started a new job this year in an international primary initially thinking I was going to be teaching EAL and found out the day I arrived that I’m a mainstream teacher so majorly thrown into the deep end (I was a secondary languages teacher before this). I’ve got little/no planning to work off of and the management this year want unit plans for everything. I’m a hard worker but I have found this job majorly stressful over the paperwork more than anything because the truth is I feel like I don’t know what I’m doing half the time and I’m not sure if I’m doing the right thing, etc. My new year’s resolution is to get better at it, particularly in terms of English planning.

The coordinator at my school does up brilliant unit plans that fit into the objectives effortlessly and manages to get everything to fit in perfectly with the books available, etc. I would ask for advice from her but I feel it would just be drawing more attention to myself and make me more stressed if anything. The last book the teacher before me used was King Arthur and the plan literally just said ‘read book’. I managed to use the book but most of it was just doing comprehensions and making comics in all honesty I just felt bad for my students because were bored with it and I was, too. I really want to do my job justice and I could really use some advice. I honestly haven’t enjoyed my Christmas break or any holidays because of this. I guess I’m just wondering is how do you guys manage to get the books to fit into what you need to teach, etc?

demure