1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 4 writing

Discussion in 'Primary' started by forevernqt, May 24, 2011.

1. As my username suggests(!) I'm not actually an NQT but constanntly feel like one! At the moment I am having a huge crisis of confidence - I'm only in my second year of teaching however I am feeling extremely down about my abilities. I have just marked my chns sats papers and placed the results into the tracker only to be greeted by a lot of 'red' areas - now dreading my pp meeting so much it is making me ill. I thought my chn were doing well so I don't know if maybe I thought they were doing better than they should be or I have under marked them or over marked them in the past? I really struggle at school for any support with levelling as the literacy coordinator is currently off ill and everyone else is so busy and stressed. I know it's a long shot but I wondered if anyone could give these pieces of work a quick look over (even one would be great if you have the time) and let me know what you think level wise - I know its not the best way to level on one piece but at least it would give me some indication as to whether I am along the correct track. I have written them out as the children have. I would be really, really greatful for any advice or help as I really am at the end of my tether and I feel this is making me ill. Many thanks xxx

Child 1
    Dear Diary
    AS we landed at Rothera research on our red plane we could smell frozen food such as fish and lots more. We got stuck on the iceberg where we landed so we risked our life and swam to land I jumped in the water and out I went. therefore it took us 10 seconds and we all survived.