1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 4 Maths Rounding - please help!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by hummingbird21, Apr 15, 2012.

1. Hi everyone, sorry if this has been asked before but my head is literally about to explode, so forgive me.

I'm a student teacher on my second placement at the moment, and I'm currently planning a week's worth of Maths lessons on Rounding and Decimals. I've been looking online for the past few days and am just completely stuck. The children just finished a topic on Dragonology and are about to start one on their village, so there's not really any topic links I can make.

I thought about doing a lesson on Rounding using the Titanic, i.e. how many lifeboats would be needed, let's round them up to tens, hundreds and moving on to thousands etc. But then when it came to it I felt like this was a bit of a rubbish idea, and now I'm completely stressing out because my teacher actually wanted me to link the Maths to Science. The chn are currently learning about muscles and the length of their bones etc. and she wanted them to use these measurements in rounding, but obviously they're only going to be in tens or hundreds and the curriculum says they're meant to round to the nearest thousand and, basically, I don't know what to do, because that won't work and she loves the Hamilton Trust site and will be annoyed I'm not using that in the first place, even though it's rubbish and the last time we used it I got an Inadequate in my observation (bear in mind I was getting Goods and Outstandings before that).

I'm teaching the first Maths lesson tomorrow morning and I have nothing to show for it so far. Please please help me if you can and sorry for waffling. WHATDOIDO!?!