1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 4 Division

Discussion in 'Primary' started by lattedrinker, Nov 22, 2015.

1. lattedrinker

lattedrinker New commenter

Hello,
    I'm fairly new to year 4 and finding it quite difficult. Last week in maths, we looked at dividing using the chunking method. I taught them how to chunk on a number line, but I'm not sure if this is what I should have done. When I now check online about this, it shows it using 'long division' such as...216/12=
    (10x12) 120
    (5x12) -60
    (3x12) -36
    So, my question is, have I taught them wrong? would this be the method I teach them next? Or do we go onto the short division using a written in the more formal division form?
    Thanks for reading and I look forward to any replies.

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

With year 4 I would also have taught (though most ought to have already been vaguely aware) to chunk on a numberline as a first step, moving to column chunking later.
    If you use repeated subtraction to chunk on the numberline, and subtract multiple chunks at a time, it is a simple step to column chunking later in the year.

3. mystery10

mystery10 Occasional commenter

Why not move on to division by taking away chunks in columns straight after the number line chunking? And then onto "perfect chunking" - so n the example given they would take away two chunks only - 10 lots of 12 and then 8 lots of 12 - ready for more formal long division? If they can do division by one digit by taking away on a number line much further down the school, what's the need to drag out dividing by two digits over such a long period?