1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 3 interview lesson - help?!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by sophiejade07x, Dec 13, 2019.

1. sophiejade07x

sophiejade07x New commenter

Hi all, this is my first post :)
    I'm a trained secondary English teacher and I've just completed my NQT. I've been considering moving into primary for a while now, and I've just found out that a Primary job I applied for (and I really want) has invited me to interview on Monday (3 days)!
    I'm obviously ecstatic, but I'm really nervous as I've never taught LKS2 before. On top of that, I'm really struggling to think of what to do for my interview lesson.
    My brief is: deliver a 30 minute whole class reading session to our year 3 children, followed by a 30-minute written task.
    Ideally I'd like to read a nice fiction picture book that will keep them engaged and generate discussion points. In terms of the writing, I'd like to do something creative such as a newspaper report/interview.
    I've been researching appropriate books but they all seem too long/not long enough. I need to be reading for at least 20 minutes with ten minutes discussion/questions in between.
    Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Hmm. Not sure how you'll be able to demonstrate student interaction and activity in your plans for that timeframe. Trying to do reading and a news report / interview would be too much.

Which particular objective did you have in mind to deliver and demonstrate progress?