1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 3 help wanted

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by Fishter, Jan 26, 2011.

1. I would be grateful for advice on behaviour management. I am a recently qualified teacher working with Y3 pupils. During my teaching practices I didn't have any obvious problems with behaviour. However, with my current class (who are well-known in the school for their behaviour since infants) are really causing me some trouble.
    It is hard to engage them and to keep their attention despite my planning what I believe are fun lessons. We made up class rules at the start of the year and I constantly draw their attention to them (they are displayed prominently in the classroom). However, despite this there are still children who stand up when I am delivering my lesson and attempt to walk across the room. There are children who ask questions without raising their hand, interrupting me when I am speaking. There are others that shout out during my input session or talk to those around them. Even during individual work there are children who are disruptive and disobedient. I have tried lots of techniques that I have used before - such as Star of the Week and stickers for good behaviour. I use positive and negative points and ask the children to explain to me why they are given these points.