1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 3 Gymnastics Observation

Discussion in 'Physical education' started by gmwatts, Mar 7, 2012.

1. Hello!
    I'm a student in my final teaching practice currently being observed every week!
    My next observation is in a Gymnastics lesson for Year 3. So far we have looked at different ways of moving across the mat, and also different ways of balancing and then sequencing these movements into a mini-performance.

I'm struggling for ideas for what to do next as I am a tad apprehensive to get the apparatus out during an observation even though it will look good. My observer has hinted to me to think about 'teaching points' during the lesson, can anyone share a light on what she means by this?

Thank you!

2. stopwatch

stopwatch Established commenter

Are you getting them to thnk of movements/ideas eg 'see how many ways you can slide under/over/around your apparatus' or are you teaching them formally eg 'today we are doing a forward roll'?
    Teaching points are the key things/points needed to perform a skill or tactical play etc properly eg 'tuck up tightly' 'support your bodyweight on your hands' 'keep you body low to the ground'
    I would guess she may think you are not re-inforcing these verbally during the lesson. You can call these out as the children are working - keep to 2 or 3 otherwise it will be confusing
    End of the lesson plenary 'what were the key points of todays lesson children?' 'what did you hear e saying to you whilst you were working?'