1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 3 - 'average levels' ????

Discussion in 'Primary' started by takethatno1fan, Mar 24, 2008.

1. takethatno1fan

takethatno1fan New commenter

Please could someone tell me what the 'expected' levels are at the end of Y3 in Literacy & Numeracy.

It is my first year teaching Y3 and feeling stressed with SATs coming up.

Are they expected to move on 2 sub-levels from KS1 SAT levels? A little confused as I have heard staff say that KS1 level 3 is different to a KS2 level 3?????

Really confused - please help :(

2. I was always told that if a child achieved a 2b then they should be a 3c at least at end of Y3, if 2a then at least a 3b. But in my old school I was always expected to move them on 3 sub levels.

3. tafkam

tafkam Occasional commenter

It depends on who you listen to.

In the terms of the original National Curriculum, if they reach level 2 in Y2 - which is what is expected - then they should reach level 3 in Y4.

However, no-one pays much attention to that any more, and much higher targets are set, to fit in with the way in which primary education has been narrowed so precisely!

SO... in theory yes, 2 sub-levels would be expected. And yes, level 3 in KS1 assessments is definitely not comparable to level 3 achieved in KS2 assessments, but that's not to say that folks won't try to pretend they're the same.

All in all... who'd be a Y3 teacher. You're damned either way. If it's any consolation -and I know it won't be - we have the same problem in Y7!

4. takethatno1fan

takethatno1fan New commenter

thanks for your replies.

I don't know whether I feel any better though!!!! lol