1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 2 Interview- not asking for lesson plan, but advice on my plan!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jmlm2212, Apr 21, 2012.

1. I have an interview on Tuesday for a job that I am so desperate to get! I have to teach a 30 minute lesson of my choice to a Year 2 class of about 30 children. I am a PGCE student and have taught Reception and Year 1 on my placements so far, so am worried about making sure I pitch the lesson right as I have no experience on Year 2, and in a previous interview I had the head said that my lesson wasn't challenging enough. This is what I have thought I could do:
    A lesson on alliteration:
    LO: To understand what alliteration is and be able to write sentences using alliteration.
    Intro:
    I am going to read them some silly sentences with alliteration, doing something that I saw online called a 'smile test' i.e. I read them silly sentences and they have to see how long they can keep a straight face for! I then ask them to tell me what they notice about the sentences- leading onto explaining about alliteraton.

Main activity:
    I want the children to go off in pairs and write some sentences (that can be silly) with alliteration, and tell them that they can write about something they really like e.g. their favourite food, toy, person etc. Ask for their sentences to have at least 4 alliterated words in.
    LA: I will support them working in pairs to ensure they have at least one sentence each.
    HA: They can write sentences with a larger number of alliterated words in e.g.5 or 6 and possible introduce similes into their writing e.g. the royal round ruby was as red as a rose.

Plenary: