1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 11 putting pen to paper

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by cb700, Dec 15, 2016.

1. cb700

cb700 New commenter

Hi
    I started a new secondary post at October half term. The students had a bit of a rocky start with the teacher leaving at having various teachers.
    I am an experienced teacher teaching for over 12 years but the main problem I am having is simply getting the students to put pen to paper and do some work. I have tried interesting hooks as starters coming up with engaging tasks. But they simply dont want to attempt the work. One year 11 class are getting so far behind and are not even attempting assessments so I can not judge their progress.

They will also not listen to instructions when tasks are introduced.

Any ideas?
    websites I can read up on?
    I feel like an NQT again!

pepper5 likes this.
  2. mrmatt73

mrmatt73 Occasional commenter

Are the Year Team involved ? SLT Year-link ? Is there a problem within Year 11 that is impacting upon their behaviour ? It sounds as though you are doing the right things but they simply "cannot be bothered" and need other forms of motivation.

pepper5 likes this.
  3. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Perhaps be honest with them. Tell them you understand their frustration at having different teachers, but that is life and now it is time to move on.

Start with changing their attitude and behaviour about listening. Insist that they listen silently while you are giving the instructions. If they refuse, then follow the school's behaviour policy.