1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 11 intervention and visit from an examiner?

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by lancsHOD, Mar 4, 2011.

1. lancsHOD

lancsHOD New commenter

Have you had examiners in to talk to your Year 11 as part of exam preparation and would you recommend it?
    Do you do Easter revision classses and do you think they make a difference?

2. I have no experience of the examiners talks but would be interested to hear about that.

I have taught on an Easter revision class at a local school that has Maths and Computing college status and run the classes as part of their outreach work.

The classes are aimed at getting pupils from A to A star. Run over two days,90 min workshops, 3 workshops a day, short test at the end of each workshop. Staff drawn from schools taking part, paid by host school. Good feedback from pupils. HTH.

3. After listening to the lady from edexcel, no not a chance as the mixed messages would baffle the kids further.
    From experience C/D border kids need drip feed constant going over topic basics and gradually get to know what to put down for max marks..they soon forget. I think a longer stint helps them
    It may benefit the higher pupils but IME unless you know who is doing the intervention I MAY avoid further confusion.
    But thats my experience of one examiner

4. LiamD

LiamD New commenter

Don't be too hard on yourself [​IMG]

5. googolplex

googolplex Occasional commenter