1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 10 difficult mix

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by SleepingGrumpy, Dec 31, 2014.

1. I'm in my second year of teaching and finding I am having some difficulties with my 10 set 2 class. First of all, they are quite a strange mix as 60% of them are very quiet and rarely ever speak. Several of them have complained of/said they have social anxiety issues so I feel reluctant to ask them questions for fear of making them uncomfortable; I feel quite bad when I do.

Most if not all of them are very self conscious and secretive about their grades. They don't like peer assessment and do not like other people to hear/see their grades - even though they are mostly very good! This makes group work and cooperative learning and reflection difficult.

They don't seem to like each other! I have some that will not speak to others. One boy literally will not speak to anyone else in the class or take part in group work as they are not his usual social circle and he feels out of place - he's a handful in other lessons but the students around him are very well behaved. I feel like it's a bit of a social minefield and I don't want to let them just sit with their friends but I am concerned about what will happen come speaking and listening time.