1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 1 - phonics and literacy help please!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jellybaby30, Sep 20, 2008.

1. Hi I am new to Year 1 and not sure how to organise literacy and phoncis teaching. I would be grateful to hear how people organise their time. Do you keep literacy teaching and phonics separate? (i.e. teach separate lessons) or do you include it at the beginning of a literacy lesson. I am just about to start teaching my first unit of labels, lists and captions and at the same time start phonics teaching with them but am not sure how I go about doing this. Should phonics be taught for a set time each day - any advice would be greatly appreicated. I am starting to tear my hair out!

2. Hi I am new to Year 1 and not sure how to organise literacy and phoncis teaching. I would be grateful to hear how people organise their time. Do you keep literacy teaching and phonics separate? (i.e. teach separate lessons) or do you include it at the beginning of a literacy lesson. I am just about to start teaching my first unit of labels, lists and captions and at the same time start phonics teaching with them but am not sure how I go about doing this. Should phonics be taught for a set time each day - any advice would be greatly appreicated. I am starting to tear my hair out!

3. I'm new to year 1 too but at our school we keep 20 mins every afternoon specificially for phonics and then try and link in activities in reading time and 'free' time to do with phonics if we can. There guided activities might be based around the letter sound you have been doing. Can give you more detail of the sorts of things I do if you like