1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 1 numeracy interview- please help!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Ani, May 16, 2008.

1. Ani

Ani

bump!

2. Ani

Ani

bump

3. Hi,
    I'm a year one teacher and willing to give you a hand- what kinda thing are you thinking of doing though? have you got to teach a particular unit of the framework or anything you fancy? If so it's best to make it something you'll enjoy teaching- which will hopefully be obvious to the panel and the chidlren!
    I always love doing data handling, problem solving and things where the kids can really get stuck in with loads of resources..but it really depends on you , so let me know what your preferences are and i'll have a think!
    :)

4. Ani

Ani

Thank you keep smiling! I was thinking of doing shape because it can be really practical my ideas so far are to sing a shape song to assess prior knowledge of 2d shapes, then describe diff between 2d and 3d-using a balloon, then go on a 3d shape treasure hunt- bring back together and see whether they have found 2d or 3d shapes and why. then assess again using a confused puppet and see what mistakes he has made.

i want to keep it really practical and fun. I have a long time to prepare the classroom before the lesosn so i can hide shapes etc. my current worry is they have emphasised that they have a smartboard in the classroom so i feel i need to put some IWB activities in there.

5. Ani

Ani

Hi, just had big panic, reread my letter and it says any aspect of number work relating to the age group- does that mean not shape???? AHHHHHHH!!!

6. Ani

Ani