1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 1 numeracy-carousel or not?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by mrsh84, Aug 11, 2008.

1. I can't decide what to do, previous teacher used carousel well, I have never done it before. It makes sense to do it for the start as they will be doing more practical activities and it means I only need 5 for the week instead of 25! But don't know how it works with new framework, e.g. with measures all being combined each term instead of doing length one term, then mass, then capacity.
    How do you do it? Are carousels effective? What would ofsted say?
    Please help!

2. I can't decide what to do, previous teacher used carousel well, I have never done it before. It makes sense to do it for the start as they will be doing more practical activities and it means I only need 5 for the week instead of 25! But don't know how it works with new framework, e.g. with measures all being combined each term instead of doing length one term, then mass, then capacity.
    How do you do it? Are carousels effective? What would ofsted say?
    Please help!

3. I personally like them and have used them to some extent in yr 2.
    However i would be concerened about having same activites/covering same obj for 5 days. Would you fit everything in??? I did 3 day carousel activities in yr2 with some extension on day 2 and 3. However it meant it wasnt as simple as only planning 3 activities - each day they had to be extended or simplified depending on the group.
    I introduced this in year 2 after observing it being done v well in year 1. If you want more info about how i did it just ask.