1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Year 1 First Term Topic

Discussion in 'Primary' started by pepperg, Aug 5, 2011.

1. I'm a Year 1 teacher and have been for 3 years. So next term I will be doing my 4th year of Year 1 (obviously). I have done the topic Ourselves/Marvellous Me for 3 years now and I'm getting a little bored with that topic. I have done vairous books (Titch, Don't Do That, What Would We Do Without Missus Mac) and we have looked at ourselves as a baby and growing up and our body parts - all that usual stuff. Has anyone got any ideas to spice it up a bit. My creativity is waining in this area because it needs to be nice a simple but not mundane.
    Anyway, would greatly appreciate your ideas.
    Thanks in advance.

2. It depends on how much of a 'creative curriculum' you are allowed in your school.
    We do things like space, pirates, superheroes, castles...our first topic this year will be fairgrounds and circuses. Choose something that will excite the children - no offence, but "Ourselves" is a bit of a boring one and I wouldn't be inspired by that if I were 5! But I realise it depends how much freedom your school lets you have with the curriculum.

3. I am also a bit bored with the 'myself' topic so have decided to do a topic on space in the Autumn term and include the science objectives for Humans and other Animals in this by having the chn write to the aliens to tell them about ourselves and other aspects of life on Earth.