1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y8 Low ability - 'Going on a trip' project

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by guagua19, Jan 5, 2011.

1. Hi all. Wondering if anyone can help. I am a new teacher in a very small department and am wanting to put together a project booklet for a couple of Year 8 classes, based on the above topic (or something like visiting a (French) town etc.) This year the classes in our Year 8 are taught in their forms so they are mixed ability, but in truth they are mostly fairly low-mid ability-wise with tricky behaviour prevalent (one of them on class report.) It has been suggested that as a whole we need to look at whether to change the dynamics of the teaching groups/classes across the year, as the Year 8 pupils seem particularly disaffected at such an early stage of their MFL learning.

Determined to start the term om a more positive note, I am therefore wanting to put together a colourful project book, with lots of differentiation, to allow the more able /conscientious to extend their learning and engage in independent research (we have one PC lesson per week), but also lots of achievable (but still interesting) activities. Trouble is, most of the stuff I have come across is either too difficult for the majority of them at the moment. So I was wondering whether anyone has a basic project along these lines which I can tailor to include a range of differentiated activities according to the make-up of my current classes? I would be so grateful. J