1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y6 Taster session

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by overseasjunky, Jul 1, 2013.

1. Hi all,

I'm really new to this, so please don't shoot me down! I was wondering if anyone had any good ideas or materials to support a Y6 taster session? It will last for one hour and is mixed ability. Never done one before, but I was thinking of a few games, maybe maths jigsaws??

Any ideas would be great. Thanks.

2. PaulDG

PaulDG Occasional commenter

Is this year 6 coming into year 7 or year 5 coming into year 6?

Do you usually do games and jigsaws?

If you do, then that's exactly what you should be doing.

If it isn't, then what sort of "taster" is it if what you're giving them as a sample isn't really on the menu?

3. Thanks for the reply PaulDG.

Y6 coming into Y7.

I think the day is more for them to become familiar with the surroundings, as opposed to achieving any NC objectives, which is what I would normally do.

I'm thinking more of fun, maths activities that get them thinking, interacting with each other. I might be totally off the mark with my ideas, maybe someone with more experience can offer some insight?

4. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter

I have done this a few times. A chat about Maths, a chance for them to say how they feel about the subject and a short investigation (in pairs or small groups) seem to work for me.

5. m4thsdotcom

m4thsdotcom Occasional commenter

I agree with Paul.

I think taster days should be that.