1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y5 maths problem solving - what are you using?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Trapin1, Oct 18, 2017.

1. Trapin1

Trapin1 New commenter

Maths results in our school show that whilst children are doing okay with arithmetic, they are not doing well applying their skills to using and applying and problem solving. This year, as I am new to year 5 and doing the maths planning, I have been using Target your Maths to focus on the skills and year 5 White Rose Hub fluency/reasoning/problem solving materials to allow the children to demonstrate how well they have understood their learning. However, following maths moderation tonight, our head (and former year 6 teacher) thinks they are far too hard and not really written in a Sats' style (and to be honest, I agree). I promised myself that this year I would cut down my work load and move away from searching around for resources on a daily/weekly basis and certainly don't want to sit making up Sats style word problems and wondered what other year 5 teachers are using. I don't want to step on the year 6 teacher's toes and start using old Sats questions either in case he wants to use them next year

Any thoughts will be gratefully received.

2. Pomz

Pomz Lead commenter

Has your HT been a Y6 teacher in either of the last two years? If not, they may be a bit out-of-touch.

I've had a lot of positive feedback about the WR resources from a number of schools, all of which seem to think they fulfill the requirements of the curriculum pretty well.

bevdex likes this.
  3. Trapin1

Trapin1 New commenter