1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y2 missing numbers

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by emily88, Apr 22, 2012.

1. Hello, just looking if someone could give me some advice please! I am a student in numeracy this week I am teaching about finding the missing number in a calculation using the four functions,

What strategies should I be using to teach this? I am going to support chn with inverse operations for + and - but not sure how else I should go about this for times and divide and if I should be using a number line or anything like that to support their understanding?

Thank You

2. Hello, just looking if someone could give me some advice please! I am a student in numeracy this week I am teaching about finding the missing number in a calculation using the four functions,

What strategies should I be using to teach this? I am going to support chn with inverse operations for + and - but not sure how else I should go about this for times and divide and if I should be using a number line or anything like that to support their understanding?

Thank You

3. PaulDG

PaulDG Occasional commenter

I think you need to start by looking at the NC indicators for the year - I'd be amazed if a majority of year 2s are sufficiently confident in multiplication and division to be able to access missing number problems* (there's a thread running on someone asking for help in planning a lesson on written methods of addition for Y4s).
    I'd suggest you need to focus on addition with "counting on". (Are Y2s expected to be confident in counting on from a given number?).