1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y2 Help with Time words and connectives- are they the same thing?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Dalian Daisy, Sep 13, 2007.

1. Sorry to sound so thick but I am new to Y2 and I want to get the terminology right.Is a time word e.g. then next first after that finally etc the same as a connective or different?

Am I right in saying that you might start a sentence with a time word but a connective e.g. but and because so goes in the middle of a sentence?
    How do you explain connectives to your class? What are they all? Are we still calling them that with the new framework. I feel a bit lost!

I know in the New framework it talks about 'writing simple and compound sentences and beginning to use subordination in relation to time and reason' does this mean using connectives. I need some help to clear it up in my mind!!Thanks!

2. Sorry to sound so thick but I am new to Y2 and I want to get the terminology right.Is a time word e.g. then next first after that finally etc the same as a connective or different?

Am I right in saying that you might start a sentence with a time word but a connective e.g. but and because so goes in the middle of a sentence?
    How do you explain connectives to your class? What are they all? Are we still calling them that with the new framework. I feel a bit lost!

I know in the New framework it talks about 'writing simple and compound sentences and beginning to use subordination in relation to time and reason' does this mean using connectives. I need some help to clear it up in my mind!!Thanks!