1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y2 Column addition

Discussion in 'Primary' started by TEA2111, Jan 17, 2016.

1. TEA2111

TEA2111 Established commenter

Out of interest, how many Yr2 teachers teach Yr2 children column addition (double digit + double digit) instead of using a number line?

2. RLB1992

RLB1992 New commenter

My class all use column addition and subtraction- we are spending some time this week looking at number lines for addition and subtraction as it is one of the methods they need to know ( to be honest I have never used this method before and it was only when the year 3 teacher mentioned it that I thought I best go back and go through it with my class) She said when teaching addition you normally do- objects, fingers, partitioning, number lines and then column addition (I just missed out the number lines, but going back this week)

Math co-ordinator said as long as they are getting the sum correct it really doesn't matter :)

Hope this helped :)

TEA2111 likes this.
  3. PaulDG

PaulDG Occasional commenter

Number line has value later when we add Cartesian graphs.

Column addition and subtraction has value for life - as it tends to be an extremely good way of getting the right answer!

RLB1992 and TEA2111 like this.
  4. TEA2111

TEA2111 Established commenter