1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y2 books for literacy

Discussion in 'Primary' started by FenellaF, Jul 11, 2012.

1. FenellaF

FenellaF New commenter

Hello! I am new to Y2 in September. The topic is either the Great Fire of London or I can do Florence and Mary Seacole. They both need covering next term, but it doesn't matter in which order. The current Y2 teacher does traditional stories for her literacy unit which doesn't really link to either, (as far as I can see..) Are there any traditional stories that I am not aware of which would fit in, or I was thinking of doing stories with familiar settings, but am again struggling to come up with any texts which would link in with the topic area. Does anyone have any suggestions please? I am open to anything! Thank you

2. Whenever I've done those history topics, I've always made information texts my literacy unit, and got the children to write their own information books. Not sure I would do that as the 1st unit in sept though. A Lion in the Meadow is a good book for familiar settings, I think there's some resources on this site for it, and maybe Hamilton site too.

3. I don't worry too much about covering what is in the Primary Framework, I would make sure you teach narrative, non fiction and poetry. We touch upon Traditional Tales as part of our heroes and Superheroes theme, but I don't feel the need to teach exactly what it says in the Framework.