1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y13 literature closed book advice

Discussion in 'English' started by readingsez78, Feb 27, 2012.

1. This is my first time round with Y13 literature and I was hoping for some words of wisdom regarding how to help prepare students for the closed book element of the exam. I have a gifted class who are really struggling with how to best prepare for this and I'm struggling to help them.

What are the best ways to remember quotations? Which quotations would be best? Should the focus be gothic only or other interpretations...

I'm doing AQA B and I've done Dracula, Dr Faustus and The Bloody Chamber.

Thank you in advance for your support.

2. This is my first time round with Y13 literature and I was hoping for some words of wisdom regarding how to help prepare students for the closed book element of the exam. I have a gifted class who are really struggling with how to best prepare for this and I'm struggling to help them.

What are the best ways to remember quotations? Which quotations would be best? Should the focus be gothic only or other interpretations...

I'm doing AQA B and I've done Dracula, Dr Faustus and The Bloody Chamber.

Thank you in advance for your support.

3. gruoch

gruoch Occasional commenter

It's elements of the gothic. No text is purely gothic, so you need to look at how they do and do not conform. 'Faustus' can't really be described as a gothic text as the genre is much later, for instance.
    You must look at other interpretations. This element is 25% of the marks and, for a good mark, evaluate their strengths and weaknesses.