1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y11 higher group consolidating for L6/7 will not be taught entire curriculum. H'm?

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by o8, Oct 18, 2017.

1. o8

o8 New commenter

I'd like advice on possible best course of action and information on how prevalent this practice is.

The background and context. I've been working as a private tutor for nearly 8 years ( teaching maths/adv.maths/stats/chemistry/physics to A-level) - I previously worked as a full-time maths teacher at a secondary.

I have a student "D" who I have been working with for a year. D attends a larger than average sized, high performing, selective entry school. D's parents wanted tuition to help raise attainment following a "disappointing" (parents words), "working at" assessment of L5. D has made quite rapid progress initially and has been making a steady improvement in the regular assessments (every 2-4 weeks) - now regularly scoring 19/20 or 80-90% on longer 1 hr assessments on work just studied. In view of this D's parents inquired in April/June about the possibility of D moving up from one of the set 3 classes and from what I recollect, the discussions seemed encouraging - but the school wanted to see D continue to produce consistently good results; this does seem to be the case.