1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y1 ideas needed!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by coombe9, Apr 20, 2011.

1. coombe9

coombe9 New commenter

i am in my 1st year working with a Y1/2 class, after spending 11 yrs in KS2 - mostly upper. Next week i am taking all the Y1's while the others sit the Y2 SAT's.

i have been given no suggestions as to what to do with them for the morning and i can do want i want really. Obviously i want it to be fun and productive though. i think i have some hall space and wonderd if any more exprienced KS1 teachers had any good ideas.

thanks alot

2. They need to know about positional language- under, over, around, in between

for my maths lesson I took them into the hall with all different equipment and then in pairs they told each other different positions to get into. Get wall bars out/benches etc and change them into kits to make experience even better!
    :)

3. I would focus on a book for a week. I've done 'Where the Wild Things Are' as a fantasy text. Don't get bogged down in the objectives etc just enjoy a creative week with them!!
    Things I've done in the past:
    • Make an island for your monster (playdoh and different craft materials). I gave them one of those monster finger things you can buy in supermarkets for party bags as their monster.
    • Visit each others island and encourage them to talk about them.
    • Monster small world play
    • Act out the story (use the hall!)
    • Monster movement (use the hall!)
    • Go on a monster hunt around the school and school field (make it cross curricular with the maths suggested above)
    • Map making/clues
    • Wanted posters
    • Write a recount of monster hunt