1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Y1 classroom layout for September

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Teapot345, Jul 24, 2018.

1. Teapot345

Teapot345 New commenter

My first time setting up a classroom for September, hooray! I have taught Year 1 before but only ever from part way through the year, I've never done September/transition so this is my first time!

What does your classroom layout look like for September?

I will be using continuous provision until half term when I'm expected to change to whole class teaching if ready (can delay if class needs longer transition).

I have a book nook in one corner but no roleplay area, a very cluttered outdoor area, and minimal storage. Not allowed to hang stuff from ceiling/wall. I'm struggling with how to arrange tables so it doesn't seem so formal too early on.

Any ideas/advice?

Ta! From anxious RQT

2. hammie

hammie Lead commenter

I think you and the author of "preparing for September" need to have:) a chat

3. Teapot345

Teapot345 New commenter

Except they're asking about planning whereas I am asking about layout. D'oh!

4. Lucilla90

Lucilla90 Occasional commenter

I think @hammie may have meant that, as you have Year 1 experience, you may be able to help the other poster.

It’s about getting help AND sharing expertise, here on TES.

Teapot345 likes this.
  5. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

I'm assuming you didn't intend this to be quite as rude as it reads.