1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Written methods of calculation - what do you use ?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Lois1964, Nov 12, 2015.

1. Lois1964

Lois1964 New commenter

My school has adopted a cluster calculations policy and this states that no formal written methods of calculation are to be attempted in KS2. As I am a Y6 teacher, I am struggling to follow this policy, given the formal methods that are a requirement for the National Curriculum. I don't feel I will be preparing my class properly for SATs and putting them at a disadvantage. Has anyone else come across this? Any advice would be really helpful.

2. summlard

summlard New commenter

What? That is the most rediculous thing I've heard in ages!
    The curriculum states quite clearly that children must use formal methods! (Starting from year 3). There is a whole SATs paper on it in year 6. What are your slt thinking?

mystery10 and Vince_Ulam like this.
  3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

We used to do this about 10 years ago, but we were a middle school so year 6 SATs didn't have quite the same importance as for primaries. Numberlines for all four operations.
    I have to say children did have a much better understanding of number than I've seen in schools where they start formal methods in year 2/3.

I've not looked closely at the year 6 curriculum, but have got the impression that numberlines may not work for the new tests. But ask around in your cluster and see what the other schools do.

4. mystery10

mystery10 Occasional commenter